Downtown TIRZ

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


The Downtown Georgetown Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone (TIRZ) was created by Ordinance No 2004-77 and covers approximately 66 (+/-) acres, located entirely in Williamson County and within the corporate limits of the City, and is generally located around the courthouse square, south of the South San Gabriel River and north of University Blvd.  The Zone is for a 25 year duration.

The Zone facilitates a program of public improvements to allow and encourage the development and redevelopment of downtown Georgetown into a mixed use, pedestrian-oriented environment, consistent with the goals of the City’s Downtown Master Plan.

Public improvements eligible for the Zone include, but are not limited to, the construction of:  sidewalks, cross walks and pedestrian crossing systems, storm sewers and drainage ponds, sanitary sewers, landscaping, streetscape, fountains, works of art, and street furniture, plazas, squares, pedestrian malls, trails and other public spaces, parking lots and roadways, utility line relocation and installation, water system improvements, parks, and outdoor performance spaces, bicycle routes and facilities, public transportation projects, signage, and other related necessary or convenient public improvements.

TIRZ Members:
  • Dale Ross (Chair): Mayor
  • Rachael Jonrowe: Council Member District 6
  • Rusty Winkstern: Downtown Business Owner
  • Karen Soeffker: Downtown Business Owner
  • Trisha Tallman: Chair of the Main Street Advisory Board
  • Laurie Brewer: Assistant City Manager
TIRZ originating Ordinance:
TIRZ Agendas: