Georgetown Texas Government


The City of Georgetown, Texas, is a “Home Rule” city. Georgetown adopted its initial “Home Rule” Charter on April 24, 1970, amended it in 1979, 1986, 1988 and again in 1994. As provided by its charter, Georgetown has a council-manager form of government. Under this form of government, the City Council provides leadership by establishing the City’s goals and policies. The City Council appoints a City Manager to achieve the desired end set by the City Council. The manager oversees the day-to-day activities of the City and executes Council established laws and policies. The City Council consists of eight members — a mayor, elected at large, and seven council members elected from individual single-member districts.

City Hall, located at 808 Martin Luther King, Jr., St., near Georgetown’s historic square, is open Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. City Hall is closed to observe the following holidays. City of Georgetown offices are closed on the following days in 2023:

  • Jan. 2 (Monday) New Year’s holiday
  • Jan. 16 (Monday) Martin Luther King Jr. Day
  • Feb. 20 (Monday) Presidents’ Day
  • April 7 (Friday) Good Friday
  • May 29 (Monday) Memorial Day
  • June 19 (Monday) Juneteenth
  • July 4 (Tuesday) Independence Day
  • Sept. 4 (Monday) Labor Day
  • Nov. 10 (Friday) Veterans Day
  • Nov. 23 (Thursday) Thanksgiving Day
  • Nov. 24 (Friday) Thanksgiving holiday
  • Dec. 25 (Monday) Christmas Day
  • Dec. 26 (Tuesday) Christmas holiday
  • Jan. 1, 2024 (Monday) New Year’s Day

Related Documents

City Organizational Chart -Final 12.05.2022

Mission Statement

A welcoming and safe community honoring our past and planning for a vibrant future.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Click here to sign up for Georgetown news.
Click here to view our Twitter page. Click here to view our facebook page. Click here to view our Nextdoor page. Click here to view our Youtube page.
Click here to sign up for alerts.
image: City of Georgetown Texas logo