City Government

Site Menu  

Election Information

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


The City of Georgetown will be conducting a General Election for Council Members in District 3, District 4 and District 7.  The Mayor and Council Members serve terms of three years.  The Mayor is elected at large and the Council Members are elected from single-member districts.

Election packets, with all of the required forms for candidates, may be picked up at City Hall, 113 E. Eighth St., Georgetown, Texas beginning January 2, 2019.  Completed applications for candidacy should be submitted to City Secretary Robyn Densmore at City Hall, 808 Martin Luther King Jr. St.

Jan. 16, 2019, is the first day for filing an application for a place on the ballot.  Feb.15, 2019, at 5 p.m. is the last day and time for filing an application for a place on the ballot.

A drawing for the order of names on the ballot will be conducted on Friday, Feb. 22, 2019, at the new City Center, 808 Martin Luther King Jr. Street, Georgetown, Texas 78626.

Early Voting by Personal Appearance shall take place at the locations and times delineated by the Williamson County Election Administrator per the Joint Election Agreement beginning on the 12th day preceding the date of the election, which is Monday, April 22, 2019, and ending on the fourth day before Election Day, which is Tuesday, April 30, 2019.

Vote Centers

A vote center is a Countywide polling location where any registered voter may cast their vote. Vote Centers are all electronic and eliminate the Election Day requirement of having to vote in the polling location specific to your voting precinct. With Vote Centers, a voter can choose the most convenient polling location in the County during Early Voting and Election Day.

Voter ID

According to the Texas Secretary of State, a photo ID is required for voting in the November 4 election. Forms of identification accepted include:

  •    Texas drivers license issued by DPS
    • Texas Election Identification Certificate issued by DPS
    • Texas personal identification card issued by DPS
    • Texas concealed handgun license
    • U.S. military identification card containing the person’s photograph
    • U.S. citizenship certificate containing the person’s photograph
    • U.S. passport


For details about City Elections, contact City Secretary Robyn Densmore at (512) 931-7715.