City Government Overview

The City of Georgetown, Texas, is a “Home Rule” city. Georgetown adopted its initial “Home Rule” Charter on April 24, 1970, amended it in 1979, 1986, 1988 and again in 1994.  As provided by its charter, Georgetown has a council-manager form of government. Under this form of government, the City Council provides leadership by establishing the City’s goals and policies. The City Council appoints a City Manager to achieve the desired end set by the City Council. The manager oversees the day-to-day activities of the City and executes Council established laws and policies. The City Council consists of eight members — a mayor, elected at large, and seven council members elected from individual single-member districts. The City Attorney is appointed by the City Council to provide legal services to the City of Georgetown including the review of contracts, representation in City legal matters, and providing legal advice to City staff and the Council.  For more information about the City Attorney, contact the City Manager’s office at (512) 930-3723.

City Hall, located at 808 Martin Luther King, Jr. Street, near Georgetown’s historic square and two blocks west of the Public Library, is open Monday through Friday 8:00 am to 5:00 pm.  City Hall is closed to observe the following holidays: New Year’s Day, Martin Luther King Day, Memorial Day, Juneteenth, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving and the following Friday, and Christmas Day and the following Day.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email